Eastern Kentucky University Teacher Education Committee 2024-25 Bylaws

I. Name of the Organization

The name of this body is the Teacher Education Committee (TEC).

II. Purpose

The TEC has as its purpose to review, make recommendations, and approve matters pertaining to educator preparation programs for the appropriate bodies and/or officials regarding academic programs, curriculum, policies, and regulations at Eastern Kentucky University (EKU). In addition, at the request of the Dean of the College of Education and Applied Human Sciences (CEAHS), the TEC will consider other matters related to graduate or undergraduate education issues in the college.

III. Functions

- A. To make recommendations to the Dean of the CEAHS and appropriate bodies and stakeholders regarding academic programs, academic policies, and scholastic regulations pertaining to curriculum for educator preparation programs.
- B. To consider and/or make decisions on all proposals submitted by academic units of educator preparation programs.
- C. To initiate studies and policies pertaining to teacher education, professional regulations, or other matters referred to the TEC by the Dean of the CEAHS.
- D. To establish subcommittees as needed for accomplishing the work of the Committee.
- E. Promote meaningful communication and interdisciplinary collaboration across the university and other supporting agencies.

IV. Composition of the TEC

- A. Ex-officio Members (non-voting)
 - 1. Dean of the College of Education and Applied Human Sciences (CEAHS)
 - 2. Associate Deans of CEAHS; College of Letters, Arts, and Social Sciences (CLASS); College of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM); and College of Business (COB)
 - 3. Chair, Department of Teaching, Learning, and Educational Leadership (TLEL)
 - 4. Director of Educator Preparation Accreditation

- B. Continuing Members (voting members must hold faculty status)
 - 1. Director or designee of the Office of Professional Education Services
 - 2. Superintendent/Dean of K12 programs at Model Laboratory School or designee
 - 3. Program Coordinators (*4 Program Coordinators as specified by the TLEL Department Chair*): 1 Graduate Coordinator (TLEL), 1 Undergraduate Coordinator (TLEL), 1 other TLEL Coordinator, and 1 School Counseling Coordinator (CTP)
- C. Term Members
 - 1. One additional representative from TLEL
 - 2. One representative from Applied Human Sciences (AHS)
 - 3. One representative from the College of Business teaching program
 - 4. Three representatives from CLASS: one from the Institute for Creative and Collaborative Arts; one from the Department of English; one from either the History or Language teaching programs
 - 5. Three representatives from STEM: one from the Department of Mathematics and Statistics; two other representatives
 - 6. Two representatives from public schools: one representative from Madison County School District and one representative from another partner school district.
 - 7. Two student representatives (one graduate and one undergraduate) in the educator preparation program.
- D. Alternates

Colleges will have faculty designated as alternates to the TEC to preserve quorum and bring information from TEC meetings.

- 1. TLEL-2 alternates
- 2. AHS-1 alternate
- 3. College of Business-1 alternate
- 4. CLASS-1 alternate
- 5. STEM-1 alternate
- 6. Student-1 alternate

V. Qualifications and Terms of Office

- A. Faculty
 - 1. Membership Appointment and Qualifications: Continuing members are members by virtue of their positions. EKU term members are tenured or tenure-track faculty and are elected/appointed by their departments/units.
 - 2. Term of Office: Each term member shall serve a three-year staggered term. The term of office begins with the first TEC meeting of the appointed academic year and ends with the last TEC meeting at the end of their three-year term. A term member may be elected to successive terms of office.

B. Students

- 1. Membership Qualifications: The undergraduate and graduate students shall be nominated by the department chairs that offer educator preparation. The TEC Chair shall select the representative from among the nominated students.
- 2. Term of Office: The student representatives shall serve a one-year term and may be re-appointed. The student member serves from August 15 through the following May 15.
- C. Other Term Members
 - 1. Membership Appointment and Qualifications: The Director of the Office of Professional Education Services (with assistance from faculty and coordinators) shall identify public school representatives to serve on the TEC.
 - 2. Term of Office: Each term member shall serve a three-year staggered term. The term of office begins with the first TEC meeting of the appointed academic year and ends with the last TEC meeting at the end of their three-year term. A term member may be elected to successive terms of office.

VI. Officers of the Teacher Education Committee

- A. **Chair**: The Associate Dean of CEAHS or another continuing member appointed by the Dean, shall serve as Chair.
- B. Vice-Chair: The Vice-Chair shall be elected by the committee at the first meeting of each academic year.
- C. **Recorder**: The Chair shall appoint a Secretary/Recorder, who need not be a member of the TEC.

VII. Subcommittees of the TEC

The Chair of the TEC may create ad hoc committees as needed and may appoint members of ad hoc committees from either the membership or from outside the membership, as appropriate to the purpose for which the ad hoc committee is created.

VIII. Amendments to Bylaws

Amendments to the Bylaws of the TEC require a vote of support of a majority of the voting members.

IX. Rules and Procedures of the TEC

A. Organization

- 1. Chair: The Chair shall preside at the meetings of the TEC and shall be responsible for preparing the agenda and maintaining the minutes of the meetings
- 2. Vice-Chair: The Vice-Chair shall preside over meetings of the TEC in the absence of the Chair.
- 3. Secretary/Recorder: The Secretary/Recorder shall be responsible for maintaining the current TEC membership list, preparing the agenda for all meetings, keeping the minutes for all meetings, and notifying the members of all meetings.

B. Meetings

- 1. Schedule: Meetings shall be scheduled regularly during the fall and spring semesters to align with the University curriculum calendar.
- 2. Quorum: A quorum shall consist of 50% + 1 of the voting members (or alternates) of the TEC.
- 3. Parliamentary Authority: The most recent version of Roberts Rules of Order shall be the parliamentary authority of the TEC.
- 4. Voting Requirements: An affirmative vote of a majority (50% + 1) of the TEC in attendance is required for passage of motions.
- C. Visitors: Meetings are open to anyone wishing to attend; involvement of non-members in discussion is permitted at the discretion of the Chair.
- D. Agenda and Minutes: Items for inclusion on the agenda must be submitted to the Secretary/Recorder by 4:00 pm on the Monday of the week preceding the meeting. The agenda and the minutes of the previous meeting shall be distributed to TEC members four business days prior to the meeting.
- E. Alternates: A member who cannot attend a meeting shall be responsible for designating an alternate from the member's unit or department to attend and vote in the member's place. The member should provide the alternate with agenda materials. Members are expected to notify the Secretary/Recorder when they have asked alternates to attend in their places.
- F. Attendance: A member who misses two consecutive meetings or three non-consecutive meetings within an academic year without arranging for an alternate may be replaced.